The final checks before buying a used car are three online searches: a PPSR search for money owing, a rego check in the state the car is registered in, and the government recall register. A PPSR search costs $2 online. Do all three before you hand over a cent, because what they find is legal and administrative rather than mechanical.
It is tempting to start under the bonnet, but a car can be mechanically perfect and still be the wrong car to buy, because some of what goes wrong with a used car has nothing to do with the engine. What to look for on a test drive or in a service book is a separate job, for you or a mechanic; these three are searches, with the rego and recall checks run before you travel and the PPSR search saved for the day of the sale or the day before. The wider process, from dealer versus private rights to cooling-off periods, is in our guide to buying a used car.
So the final checks before buying a used car are paperwork checks, not condition checks. Money owing, registration status and outstanding recalls sit in separate registers held by separate bodies, and a clean result on one tells you nothing about the other two. Timing matters for one of them: the PPSR search belongs on the day of the sale or the day before, while the other two can be run whenever.
The three searches sit at the top of the table below. The last two rows are the physical checks they do not replace.
| Check | What it covers | What it costs |
|---|---|---|
| PPSR search | Security interests, so whether finance is owing on the car | $2.00 online, national |
| Registration check, NSW | Registration status and CTP | Free |
| Vehicle recall register | Outstanding safety recalls by supplier, model and year | Not stated |
| Safety certificate, QLD | Basic safety items | $102.70 up to 4,500 kg GVM, as at 1 July 2026 |
| Full mechanical inspection | Condition and life expectancy | Not stated |
The Personal Property Securities Register is where you find out whether any finance is still owing on the car. A search costs $2.00 online, or $7.00 through the contact centre, and PPSR fees carry no GST. That is the whole price of finding out whether somebody else has a claim on the car you are about to buy.
This is not our suggestion, it is the government's. Service NSW tells buyers directly that if you intend on buying a vehicle from a private seller, you should visit the Personal Property Securities Register website to find out if there is any finance owing.
The reason it matters is what happens if you skip it. The PPSR's own guidance to buyers is blunt: buy from a private seller without doing a search and you are not protected. Any valid security interest registered against the car at that point could still be enforceable, which means there is a risk it could be repossessed from you.
There is a timing rule inside that protection, and it is the reason this is a final check rather than an early one. The PPSR says you will generally take the vehicle free of any claimed security interests if you search against the correct serial number, on the actual day or the day before the sale goes through, and the search shows nothing registered against it. Run it a fortnight out and you are outside that window on the day you hand over the money.
Read "generally" as the operative word. The PPSR's list of exceptions is introduced with the word including, so treat it as examples rather than a closed set. It also warns that a security interest can be perfected in ways other than registering on the PPSR, or may be temporarily perfected, and speaking to a private-sale buyer it puts the outcome no higher than that you may be protected.
One exception is worth naming because it fits this situation exactly. The protection does not run where the person selling you the car is recorded as the secured party, which the PPSR notes can often happen when the seller is also the one providing the finance.
One asymmetry is worth knowing before you commit to a private sale. The same guidance says that if you buy from a motor vehicle dealer you will generally take the vehicle free of any security interests, subject to exceptions such as an unlicensed dealer. Buying privately is where the search does the work.
Every state and territory runs its own registration check, and the New South Wales one is free. The catch is that free does not mean complete. In New South Wales you can check a vehicle's registration details online, or on the Service NSW app by scanning or entering the number plate, and the free check returns six things.
Those six are the registration expiry date, whether the registration is suspended or cancelled, any registration restrictions, any registration concessions, the compulsory third party insurance provider and policy expiry date, and the three most recent yearly odometer readings where they are available. Watch the concessions line, because Service NSW notes that additional charges might apply when a concession-carrying vehicle is transferred to a new owner.
The odometer line deserves a second look, because the two Service NSW pages do not agree. The registration-check page lists three years of readings as part of the free check, while the vehicle-history-report page presents the same three readings as part of the paid report. Run the free check first and see what you get, rather than paying on the assumption that you have to.
Now the gap. Whether the car has been written off, or whether the vehicle, its plates or its engine are reported stolen, is not in the free NSW check: Service NSW says you can pay for a vehicle history report for that. So the free check tells you the car's registration status today, not that it has an innocent past.
Treat that paid report as something for your own decision rather than for a later argument, because three stated limits say so. It is not usable in court or certified for any legal evidence, it is not available for conditionally-registered vehicles, and it will not give you the VIN.
The missing VIN is the one that matters most in practice. The VIN is the identifier that ties a car to its history, so the report cannot be matched to the VIN on the car or its paperwork. If you need the information for legal proceedings, Service NSW points you to the Transport for NSW Certificates Unit for a certified copy instead.
One more NSW trap for anyone shopping interstate: the free registration check can only be run on vehicles previously or currently registered in NSW. Service NSW links every other state and territory's own check, so use the one that matches the car's plates rather than your own address.
A written-off result is close to a deal-breaker and the reason is structural. In New South Wales you can only get approval to repair and re-register a written-off light vehicle in very limited circumstances, so a car on that register is mostly not a car you can put back on the road.
Flood damage is where this gets genuinely uncomfortable, and Transport for NSW does not soften it. Its written-off vehicles page warns that flooding has damaged many vehicles including caravans and camper trailers, that many of those may be assessed and declared written off due to a total economic loss, and that those vehicles may be added to the register and will not be able to be re-registered for use on our roads.
Then comes the sentence every private buyer should read twice. Some vehicles will not be considered a total loss, will not be entered into the register, and could be sold at auction or private sale. Transport for NSW recommends inspecting any vehicle thoroughly and seeking advice before you buy, which is a road agency telling you the register has a hole in it.
What that means in practice is that a clean written-off check is necessary rather than sufficient. The register will not settle it for you, and somebody has to physically look at the car. When that somebody is you, our free used car buying checklist walks you through 20 inspection points at the car.
This one covers a risk that the free NSW registration check does not list. The Australian Government publishes vehicle recalls at vehiclerecalls.gov.au, listed by supplier, model and year, with a dedicated section for the compulsory Takata airbag recall. You can browse by vehicle category or search the register for a specific recall.
The register is live rather than an archive, which is the point. In the fortnight to 15 September 2026 its recall list included a Hyundai Tucson, a Hyundai i30 Sedan hybrid, a Peugeot Traveller, Peugeot's 3008, 308 and 408 GT and a Subaru model, alongside a Regent RV caravan and a RAM 1500. Most of those are ordinary cars in ordinary driveways, which is the argument for checking rather than assuming.
Two notices on the portal are worth knowing about before you buy. One from December 2022 flags a second critical Takata airbag recall and tells anyone driving a vehicle manufactured between 1996 and 2001 to check whether it is part of the Takata recall. A separate notice from October 2024 warns of a potential scam in which people impersonate representatives of vehicle manufacturers' dealerships and offer to collect vehicles to complete an outstanding recall, so check any offer to collect the car against the supplier named on the recall notice, or the dealer it points you to, before you hand over the keys.
What a recall costs you is answered on the individual notices. On the September 2026 notices for the RAM 1500, the Regent RV caravan, the two Peugeot recalls, the Hyundai Tucson and the Subaru, each states the work will be done free of charge. Five of the six send the owner to a dealer (the Regent RV notice allows its own team as an alternative), the RAM notice says the supplier, American Compliance, will contact the owner to book the work, and the Hyundai notice adds that some owners may be eligible for an over-the-air software update instead, so an open recall was a job to arrange rather than a bill.
Caravan and camper buyers need a second stop. The portal notes that the ACCC also publishes voluntary recalls notified by suppliers, covering things that are not approved road vehicles such as quad bikes, accessories like child car restraints, and caravan or camper parts relating to human occupation rather than the vehicle itself, such as a fridge. So check both lists before you buy a van.
A safety certificate looks like a verdict and is not one, and the Queensland Government is refreshingly blunt about saying so. A safety certificate inspection there covers basic vehicle safety standards across components including tyres, brakes, steering, suspension, body rust or damage, windscreen and lights.
What it is not, in the state's own words, is a comprehensive mechanical inspection on the quality or life expectancy of a vehicle. Queensland goes further and tells buyers that if you are buying a used vehicle you should contact a motoring group such as RACQ for a full mechanical inspection. Read that as a floor, not a clean bill of health.
The Queensland paperwork rules changed in a way that catches sellers more than buyers. A safety certificate is no longer required before offering a registered vehicle for sale, but one is still required before disposing of a registered vehicle to anyone other than a dealer, and the fine for not having a current certificate at that point may exceed $700. For a buyer that is worth knowing rather than trivia, because a Queensland private seller who has not organised one has a problem before you do.
| Queensland safety certificate | Fee as at 1 July 2026 |
|---|---|
| Motor vehicles up to 4,500 kg GVM | $102.70 |
| Motorcycles | $66.00 |
| Trailers over 750 kg up to 4,500 kg ATM | $51.45 |
Those fees include GST, and only approved inspection stations can issue a Queensland safety certificate. What applies elsewhere depends on the state, so check where the car is registered rather than assuming Queensland's rules travel.
The New South Wales registration check is free, which is exactly why it pays to be careful where you run it. Service NSW and Transport for NSW have published a warning that they are aware of a third party website offering vehicle registration checks and charging a fee for them, and that neither agency has any connection with other websites or services.
The practical guard is simple enough. Start from the road agency's own site in the state where the car is registered, or the Service NSW app if the car is registered in New South Wales, and from ppsr.gov.au rather than from a search result. The government's own prices are published: $2.00 for a PPSR search online, and nothing for the New South Wales registration check.
Do the final checks before buying a used car properly, with the PPSR search left until the day of the sale or the day before, and you go in with the paperwork checked rather than taken on trust. Ideally, the finance is already sorted by then.
Sorting the finance before you inspect rather than after tends to make the whole thing calmer. Our car loans page covers the basics, and the guides to car loan requirements and how much you can borrow are the two worth reading before you commit to a price on a private sale.
Keep one distinction clear. A PPSR search tells you whether somebody else has finance on the car, and it says nothing about whether you can get finance on it, which is a different question with a different answer. Our glossary entry on the PPSR covers what the register is and what else it records.
This article is general information only and is not financial advice.
Knowing what you can borrow before you look puts you in a stronger position with a private seller. Emu Money works with a panel of 50+ lenders to find car finance options that suit the vehicle and the purchase type. Subject to lender approval, terms, and conditions apply.
This article is general information only and is not financial advice.
Compare options from 50+ lenders. No impact on your credit score.
Get StartedLearn more